Banana Walnut Protein Bars

Standard

I had some extra bananas sitting around and since we are leaving for the weekend, I wanted to use them up!

I actually HATE bananas. Like, absolutely wanna vomit, can’t choke it down type of hate. So just eating them or bringing them with me for a healthy & quick snack was out of the question. (If you’re wondering why I have then in the house in the first place it’s because they came in my CSA box). However, I actually like banana bread (that might make me weird but I don’t care).

Therefore, I decided to make some banana-type protein bars to bring along with me & this is what I came up with:

20140306-081448.jpg

Ingredients:

2 cups oat flour (or make your own oat flour by putting GF oats in a processor)
1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used Plant Fusion)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
3 T maca powder
3 ripe bananas
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup vegan chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life brand)

Blend all the dry ingredients together then mix in the wet ingredients until it becomes smooth in consistency. Fold in the walnuts and chocolate chips.

You can also choose to add honey as a sweetener to taste but I wanted to keep these as clean as possible and I think the protein powder flavor in conjunction with the chocolate chips adds enough sweetness.

Pour into an 8×8 dish (for fatter bars) or a 10×10 dish (for thinner bars) and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 12-15 minutes.

Once cooled, cut them up into bars. They are perfect for on the go or if you wanted to eat for a quick breakfast you could spread some peanut butter on top 🙂

6 thoughts on “Banana Walnut Protein Bars

  1. I think it’s interesting you got them in your CSA box. Aren’t those usually local produce? These sound yummy, though. Although we will never have extra bananas around because my kids love them–especially the baby!

    • My kids don’t really eat bananas either for some reason so I end up using them to bake with a lot! We subscribe to our local farm’s “healthy box” which is a mix of locally grown greens & veggies then they import organic fruit when it’s not in season. I think this particular bunch of bananas was from Peru!

Leave a Reply

