Weekly Dinners & Other Recipes Worth Sharing

Standard

After haphazardly writing out each of my dinners the last two weeks I’ve decided to change the format up a bit. To make it more reader friendly I’m going to just post my dinner recipes that I feel are worth sharing. I’m also going to include other non-dinner recipes I made during the week that I have found from other blogs/sites!

So to get right into it, here are the dinner recipes I made during the week that I feel are worth blogging about.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo Over Zoodles

20140406-113918.jpg

Please excuse the messy plating, that was my husbands doing πŸ˜‹. Anyway, here is the recipe:

-1 bag of frozen precooked shrimp
-2 zucchini’s made into noodles using spiralizer
-1 can of diced tomatoes with zesty jalapeΓ±os.
-1 can of tomato sauce
-1 chopped onion
-1 clove of chopped garlic
-salt, pepper & red pepper flakes to taste

Defrost shrimp and remove the tails, reserve until after sauce is made. Chop onion & garlic and cook in a heated pan with olive oil until the onions are no longer opaque. Add both the diced tomatoes and tomato sauce. Season with salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. Add in the shrimp and let it all simmer together for another few minutes. Plate the zoodles and serve the shrimp and sauce mixture over the top. Enjoy!

Crockpot Sesame Honey Pork

20140406-115411.jpg

I actually found this recipe here and did little to modify it. Mine came out with a little less sauce because I slow cooked it for about 8 hours and in pretty sure they made theirs in the oven. For full cooking instructions visit the link. I’ll just list the ingredients that I literally threw into the crockpot & cooked on low for 8 hours (probably too long but we ate dinner super late that night).

Ingredients:
-3 boneless pork chops
-1 tbsp of honey
-1 tbsp of sesame oil
-1 tbsp or so of ground mustard
-1 tbsp fresh rosemary
-1 garlic clove
-1/4 cup chicken broth

I actually whisked all the ingredients from the honey to the rosemary together and poured over the pork chops after I put the chicken broth in. I then threw the garlic in and let it cook on low all day!

I also made beet chips for the first time.

20140406-120542.jpg
Here is the link to my early post with the recipe.

Another notable recipe I found but wasn’t dinner related is a breakfast quinoa dish from feedmecolor’s blog. Here is the link

Coconut Quinoa with Ginger Pears

20140406-121701.jpg

These are the ingredients:
– 1 cup cooked quinoa
-half a pear
-coconut
-egg whites
-dash of sugar
-almond milk
-ground ginger
-walnuts

You can visit feedmecolor’s blog for specifics and full cooking instructions. I thought this was a very tasty breakfast dish and didn’t take too long to prepare. I also sprinkled the finished dish with some cinnamon just to give it a bit more depth but it wasn’t needed.

I also experimented with cashew cream cheese and made a portobello burger which was just two grilled portobello mushrooms, lettuce, tomatoes and herbed cashew cheese.

20140406-122348.jpg

The recipe for the herbed cashew cream cheese is in my previous post πŸ™‚

So that pretty much concludes it for the week! I’m hoping to find some new and different recipes for the upcoming week and experiment with pearl couscous!

Have a happy week! 😊

2 thoughts on “Weekly Dinners & Other Recipes Worth Sharing

Leave a Reply

