Breakfast Cookies

Standard

20140414-231108.jpg

I can’t remember what site I saw it on but in the last week or so I came across a recipe for cookies that used quinoa with oats! I thought it was pretty brilliant so I took a stab at making my own cookies using quinoa. I call them a breakfast cookie because the only other brilliant name I could come up with was Buffet Breakfast Cookie. They have a little of everything (except bacon) that you might eat for breakfast in them…including coffee 😉

Ingredients
-1 cup of quinoa cooked in coffee (I’ll list those directions below)
-1 1/2 cup of oats
-2 ripe bananas
-2 eggs
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-1 tsp of cinnamon
-1/3 cup chocolate chips
1/3 cup of nuts (any kind you desire)

For the quinoa:
Bring 1 cup of fresh brewed coffee & 1 cup of almond milk with 1 cup of quinoa to a boil. Once boiling, simmer for about 15 minutes or until all of the liquid is absorbed.

Directions:
Mash bananas and then mix in eggs and extract. Next mix in the coffee cooked quinoa, oats & cinnamon then fold in the chocolate chips and nuts.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spoon a generous tablespoon size for each cookie. Stick them in the oven & bake at 350 degrees for about 12-15 minutes. The amount of cookies this recipe makes will depend on how small or large you make them. My recipe yielded 20 breakfast cookies.

Let cool & enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Breakfast Cookies

Leave a Reply

